Conference USA Officially Adds 5 Schools - WOWK 13 Charleston, Huntington WV News, Weather, Sports

Conference USA Officially Adds 5 Schools

Posted: Updated:

Conference USA announced some major moves in an effort to off set some losses in 2013.

The conference announced on Friday that they have added five new teams beginning in 2013.

Joining C-USA will be UNC-Charlotte, Florida International, North Texas, Louisiana Tech and UT San Antonio.

Charlotte will join in football in 2015 and division break downs will be released at a later date.

Conference USA will lose Houston, SMU, Memphis and Central Florida to the Big East next year.

C-USA commissioner Britton Banowsky said Conference USA and the Mountain West Conference will continue to discuss a merger and an expansion remains a possibility.

Old Dominion is still weighing the possibility of joining Conference USA.


Powered by Frankly