10 WV school named Schools of Excellence for 2013-2014 - WOWK 13 Charleston, Huntington WV News, Weather, Sports

10 WV school named Schools of Excellence for 2013-2014

Posted: Updated:

Schools of Excellence are selected based on the following criteria: a rigorous and challenging curriculum; a safe and drug-free learning environment; participatory leadership; active teaching and learning; an environment that strengthens teacher skills; documented student achievement; and implementing advanced and innovated programs.

The 2013-2014 Schools of Excellence are:

  • Berkeley County: Hedgesville Elementary
  • Brooke County: Colliers Primary
  • Cabell County: Culloden Elementary
  • Clay County: Big Otter Elementary
  • Grant County: Maysville Elementary
  • Kanawha County: Herbert Hoover High School
  • Mercer County: Mercer County Technical Center
  • Nicholas County: Panther Creek Elementary
  • Ohio County: West Liberty Elementary
  • Randolph County: Randolph Technical Center

Individual school applications were reviewed by a panel to determine where site visits should occur. During the site visits, the schools provided the site visitors with verification and documentation to support a final recommendation for recognition. "I offer my congratulations to the principals, teachers, parents and students for their hard work and dedication to helping their school become a School of Excellence," said state Superintendent of Schools Jim Phares in a news release. "These schools have shown how to continually exceed the academic bar and they deserve this recognition."

Schools will be recognized with a reception and banquet on Oct. 9 at the Clay Center in Charleston.

Powered by Frankly