Susan G. Hayden receives the Dora Ruth Parks Award - WOWK 13 Charleston, Huntington WV News, Weather, Sports

Susan G. Hayden receives Dora Ruth Parks Award

Posted: Updated:

Susan G. Hayden, Adult Services Consultant for the West Virginia Library Commission, received the Dora Ruth Parks Award for her long and dedicated service to West Virginia's libraries.

A Charleston librarian and Huntington native, Hayden received the West Virginia Library Association's highest honor.

Hayden was nominated for her award by her supervisor, John Paul Myrick, Director of Library Development. 

In his nomination, Myrick said, "I have never seen a librarian display more professionalism than Susan. She has left an indelible mark on libraries in this state. Beyond her children and grandchildren, the people of this state are closest to Susan's heart, and everything she touches in terms of her work is in the best interests of the people of this state."

Hayden has been employed with the West Virginia Library Commission since 1999. In her current role at the Commission, Hayden is responsible for coordinating and providing training in library programming for adults, coordination of the West Virginia InfoDepot, which provides numerous databases to all West Virginians and overseeing many activities of the West Virginia Center for the Book, an affiliate of the Center for the Book at the Library of Congress. The Center works to promote reading and appreciation of West Virginia's unique literary heritage.

Hayden is a resident of South Hills. She has two daughters, Hayden and Abby, and two grandchildren.  She received her Master's in Library Science from Vanderbilt University and her undergraduate degree from Western Kentucky University. Prior to coming to the Commission, Hayden was Marketing Director for the University of Kentucky Press.

The Dora Ruth Parks Award was created by the West Virginia Library Association in 1970 to honor longtime West Virginia State Librarian and Library Commission Executive Secretary Dora Ruth Parks. Its past recipients include former State Librarians Frederic J. Glazer and James D. Waggoner, and other notable librarians who have rendered long and outstanding service to the people of West Virginia.

Also at the Conference, the Association announced the creation of the James D. Rockefeller Award which will be given to political officials who have strongly improved libraries through legislative work.  Sen. Jay Rockefeller, D-W.Va., will be presented with the first award in November for his longtime support of libraries, particularly in helping libraries bridge the digital divide.  His work to provide e-rate funding for schools and libraries has helped place high-speed Internet access in all public libraries and in schools across West Virginia and the nation. Rockefeller will retire from his Senate post in 2014.

Powered by Frankly