West Virginia Library Association - WOWK 13 Charleston, Huntington WV News, Weather, Sports

West Virginia Library Association

Posted: Updated:

The West Virginia Library Association has given its highest honor to Susan G. Hayden, a Charleston librarian.

Hayden, the adult services consultant for the West Virginia Library Commission, on Oct. 10 accepted the Dora Ruth Parks Award for her long and meritorious service to West Virginia's libraries. 

The announcement was made at the 2013 West Virginia Library Association Conference in Shepherdstown.

Hayden, a native of Huntington, has been employed by the West Virginia Library Commission since 1999. She is responsible for coordinating and providing training in library programming for adults; coordination of the West Virginia InfoDepot, which provides numerous databases to all West Virginians; and overseeing many activities of the West Virginia Center for the Book, an affiliate of the Center for the Book at the Library of Congress. The center works to promote reading and appreciation of West Virginia's unique literary heritage.

Hayden, a resident of South Hills, earned her master's degree in library science from Vanderbilt University and her undergraduate degree from Western Kentucky University. Prior to coming to the Commission, she worked as marketing director for the University of Kentucky Press.

The Parks Award was created by the West Virginia Library Association in 1970 to honor Dora Ruth Parks, Library Commission executive secretary from 1945 to 1971. 

Also at the conference, the association announced the creation of the James D. Rockefeller Award, to be given to political officials who have strongly improved libraries through legislative work.  

U.S. Sen. Jay Rockefeller, D-W.Va., plans to retire after his current term. He will be given the first award in November. The association is honoring Rockefeller for his longtime support of libraries, particularly in helping libraries with digital access. More information on the commission may be found at www.librarycommission.wv.gov.

Powered by Frankly