Bethany professor finalist for Professor of the Year - WOWK 13 Charleston, Huntington WV News, Weather, Sports

Bethany professor finalist for Merit Foundation's Professor of the Year

Posted: Updated:

Lisa Reilly, The Goulding-Woolery Professor in Chemistry and Associate Professor of Chemistry at Bethany College, is one of five finalists for The Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia 2013 Professor of the Year.

This is the third time in five years that a Bethany professor has been chosen for the honor, school officials said. Biology professors John Burns and Albert "Jay" R. Buckelew were finalists in 2008 and 2010, respectively.
Bethany President Scott D. Miller said Reilly "embodies Bethany's philosophy of outstanding teaching, advising and service to community. She devotes her full energy – inside and outside of the classroom – to enhancing the learning environment for our students."

Reilly has served on the Bethany faculty since 2008 and is currently chair of the Department of Physical Science. She earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry from Mercyhurst College and a doctorate in Analytical Chemistry from Oklahoma State University.

In 2012 she received Bethany's President's Award for Excellence in Performance. She serves on a wide variety of campus committees and serves as advisor to the Student Government Association, Alpha Xi Delta sorority and the Gamma Sigma Epsilon Chemistry Honors Society.

The recipient of the 2013 Professor of the Year honor will be announced in Charleston March 11 and will receive a $10,000 award.

The Faculty Merit Foundation was created in 1984 to provide a means to recognize and reward innovation and creativity among the faculties of West Virginia's public and private colleges and universities. Through the Professor of the Year program, the outstanding achievements of those individuals are brought to the attention of the general public.

The group solicits nominations which must include comprehensive and specific information about each nominee, after which the Foundation board selects finalists based on the written information presented as well as interviews with candidates.


Powered by Frankly