James and Derek Hotsinpiller Scholarship Fund - WOWK 13 Charleston, Huntington WV News, Weather, Sports

James and Derek Hotsinpiller Scholarship Fund

Posted: Updated:
Smith Smith
Knight Knight
Lohr Lohr
Brooks Brooks

The board of directors of the scholarship fund created in memory of Lt. James W. Hotsinpiller Jr. and Deputy U.S. Marshal Derek W. Hotsinpiller has awarded four new scholarships.

James Hotsinpiller was a member of the Bridgeport Police Department when he died. Derek Hotsinpiller followed his father’s footsteps into law enforcement. A Deputy U.S. Marshal, he was mortally wounded while attempting to serve an arrest warrant.

Dustin Hotsinpiller, also a Deputy U.S. Marshal, is James Hotsinpiller’s oldest son and the brother of Derek Hotsinpiller. He serves as president of the board.

The scholarship was established to aid high school seniors interested in pursuing degrees in criminal justice.

This year’s winners include Dylan Smith, the son of Michael Smith and Allison Rowe of Lost Creek. A graduate of South Harrison High School, he was a member of the basketball, football and track teams.

His community service work includes wrapping gifts for the United Way. He also works part time.

He plans to attend West Virginia Wesleyan to major in criminal justice and then pursue a career with the West Virginia State Police.

Another scholarship winner is Lincoln High School graduate Haley Knight, the niece of Renee Blei and the daughter of Timothy Knight of Bridgeport.

She plans to attend Fairmont State University and major in criminal justice with the goal of becoming a law enforcement officer.

Matthew Lohr, a graduate of Bridgeport High School, is the son of Steven Lohr and Stephanie McGinnis of Bridgeport. He plans to attend Marshall University and major in criminal justice. He is motivated to follow in his grandfather’s footsteps to become a law enforcement officer.

Lincoln High School graduate Morgan Brooks is the daughter of Doug and Billie Jo Brooks of Meadowbrook. In high school, she was a member of the soccer and softball teams. She was an active member of the Key Club, Art Club, Peer Mediation Group, Young Life, Jewel City Youth Group and the National Honor Society and assisted with a Feed-a-Family Project at Christmas. She plans to attend Fairmont State University to obtain a degree in forensic science.

The recipients were presented a scholarship certificate at their schools’ award ceremonies. The board can renew the scholarships each semester for four years of study if the applicants maintain their eligibility.

The board also voted to renew the scholarships of past recipients Emma Carpenter, Katalin Stanton, Victoria “Tori” Childers, Olivia Eubanks, Erika Voreh, Jonah James and Brett Harbaugh. This brings the total scholarships being funded for the fall semester to 11.

Future applicants can get information about applying for the scholarship from their school counselor or online at hotsinpillerscholarship.com. Donations to the scholarship fund are still being accepted. Checks should be made out to “Jim and Derek Hotsinpiller Scholarship Fund” and mailed to 441 Oakridge Lane, Bridgeport, WV 26330.

Powered by Frankly